About the Science Department

Head of Department: Mrs. T. Tate
Teacher of Science: Mrs. S. J. Capper
Teacher of Science: Mr. P. J. Owen
Teacher of Science: Mr. D. Benney
Teacher of Science: Ms. S. J. Evans
Teacher of Science: Ms. E. Rees
Teacher of Science: Mrs. S. Goulden
Senior Technician: Mrs. D. Steele
Technician: Mrs. J. Jenkins


The science department is housed in seven laboratories over two floors of the school main building. There are two preparation rooms.

Through the teaching of science we aim to develop the scientific understanding of our pupils, so they can make sense of the world around them. Development of thinking and problem solving skills is critical to this process. Teachers use a wide variety of activities and resources to portray science in a relevant manner, ensuring that all pupils access the science curriculum. Penyrheol pupils have achieved excellent standards in science through effective teaching, continued pupil effort and excellent parental support.

“And for me, our true significance lies in our ability to understand and explore this beautiful universe”- Brian Cox.