About the Science Department

The science department is housed in seven laboratories over two floors of the school main building. There are two preparation rooms.

There are eight science staff and two laboratory technicians:

Mrs S. Goulden (Head of Science)

Mr B.C. Gray (Second in Department)

Miss S.J. Collier

Mrs T. Tate

Mr J. Wallace

Mrs G.K. Elford

Mr P.J. Owen

Mr D. Benney

Mrs D. Steele (Senior Technician)

Mrs J. Jenkins (Technician)

Through the teaching of science we aim to develop the scientific understanding of our pupils, so they can make sense of the world around them. Development of thinking and problem solving skills is critical to this process. Teachers use a wide variety of activities and resources to portray science in a relevant manner, ensuring that all pupils access the science curriculum. Penyrheol pupils have achieved excellent standards in science through effective teaching, continued pupil effort and excellent parental support.

“And for me, our true significance lies in our ability to understand and explore this beautiful universe”- Brian Cox.